Automatic classification algorithm of quick bird images in the problem of evaluating of forest completeness
A.G. Terehov, N.G. Makarenko, I.T. Pak

Institute of Computational Technologies MES RK

Full text of article: Russian language.

Abstract:
Automated technology based on ultra-high spatial resolution (QuickBird) satellite data has been developed to estimate fraction of projective covering by crowns of trees and calculate forest integrity on the sample of Aman-Karagaisky forest in the Northern Kazakhstan. The processing algorithm is based on the threshold allocation of mask of shadows and its succeeding morphological filtering. The map of forest’s test area integrity built by Land Cover Classification System [LCCS] criteria have an accuracy of 82.5% relatively to the corresponding map based on an expert decoding.

Key words:
remote sensing, high resolution images, mask of shadows, morphological filtering, projective covering by crowns of trees, forest integrity.

References:

  1. Biryukova, Z.P. Water conditions and stability of pine plantations in northern Kazakhstan / Z.P. Biryukova, A.I. Verzunov, L.G. Mehedova, G.I. Skomorohova // Lesovedenie. – 1989. – Vol. 1. – P. 97-103. – (In Russian).
  2. Jansen, J.M. Land Cover Classification System (LCCS): classification concepts and user manual // FAO Land and Water Development Division, FAO – 2000. – URL: http://www.fao.org/docrep/003/x0596e/x0596e00.htm (date of the request 25.09.2014)
  3. Usolcev, V.A. Modeling of structure and dynamics of wood phytomass / V.A. Usolcev – Krasnoyarsk: Krasnoyarsk University Publisher, 1985. – 191 p. – (In Russian).
  4. Vizilter, Yu.V. Image processing and analysis in computer vision problems / Yu.V. Vizilter, S.Yu. Zheltov, A.V. Bon­darenko, .V. Ososkov, .V. Morzhin. – oscow: “Fizmatkniga” Publisher, 2010. – 672 p. – (In Russian).
  5. Zorich, V.. Mathematical analysis / V.. Zorich. – oscow: Nauka Main Edition of physical and mathematical literature, 1984. – 640 p. – (In Russian).
    © 2009, IPSI RAS
    Institution of Russian Academy of Sciences, Image Processing Systems Institute of RAS, Russia, 443001, Samara, Molodogvardeyskaya Street 151; e-mail: ko@smr.ru; Phones: +7 (846 2) 332-56-22, Fax: +7 (846 2) 332-56-20

Автоматический алгоритм классификации снимков quickbird в задаче оценки полноты леса
Терехов А.Г., Макаренко Н.Г., Пак И.Т.

Аннотация:
На основе спутниковых данных сверхвысокого пространственного разрешения (QuickBird) разработана автоматическая технология оценки доли проективного покрытия кронами деревьев и расчёта полноты леса на примере Аман-Карагайского бора Северного Казахстана. Алгоритм обработки основан на пороговом выделении маски теней, с её последующим морфологическим фильтрованием. Построенная по критериям универсальной системы классификации земных покровов (Land Cover Classification System) карта полноты леса тестового участка имела точность 82,5 % относительно соответствующей карты на основе экспертного дешифрирования снимка сверхвысокого разрешения.

Ключевые слова :
дистанционное зондирование, снимки сверхвысокого разрешения, маска теней, морфологическое фильтрование, проективное покрытие кронами деревьев, полнота леса.

Литература:

  1. Бирюкова, З.П. Водный режим и устойчивость насаждений сосны в Северном Казахстане / З.П. Бирюкова, А.И. Верзунов, Л.Г. Мехедова, Г.И. Скоморохова // Лесоведение. – 1989. – № 1. – С. 97-103.
  2. Jansen, J.M. Land Cover Classification System (LCCS): classification concepts and user manual // FAO Land and Water Development Division, FAO – 2000. – URL: http://www.fao.org/docrep/003/x0596e/x0596e00.htm (дата обращения 25.09.2014).
  3. Усольцев, В.А. Моделирование структуры и динамики фитомассы древостоев / В.А. Усольцев – Красноярск: Изд-во Красноярского ун-та, 1985. – 191 с.
  4. Визильтер, Ю.В. Обработка и анализ изображений в задачах машинного зрения / Ю.В. Визильтер, С.Ю. Жел­тов, А.В. Бондаренко, М.В. Ососков, А.В. Моржин. – М.: Физматкнига, 2010. – 672 с.
  5. Зорич, В.А. Математический анализ / В.А. Зорич. – М.: Наука Главная редакция физико-математической литературы, 1984. – 640 c.
    © 2009, IPSI RAS
    Institution of Russian Academy of Sciences, Image Processing Systems Institute of RAS, Russia, 443001, Samara, Molodogvardeyskaya Street 151; E-mail: ko@smr.ru; Phones: +7 (846) 332-56-22, Fax: +7 (846) 332-56-20